Unit 2 Hey, Thanks!

May 5, 2008 at 2:07 pm | Posted in Pam's LEARNING | Leave a comment

I made two story maps on unit two before I went to sanmin learning website to see how GO is used to teach reading, and then I made a timline when I saw the sample sanmin showed.

HERE they are: unit2-story map1, unit2-story map2 and unit2 timeline.

The reading in unit two is a story about best friends. It started from the first day they met. So I searched a appropriate graphic in Enchanted Learning – the story map which is divided into three parts- beginning, middle and end. However, in order to read specifically, I put the division of each part into the author and the main role- “Kyle”. Then I found 5 W’s graphic, I thought that might be a good one to analyse a story, so I combined two of them to made story map2. Afterward I filled the blanks in story map1. Though I spent a little time to summarize it, I really could understand the reading in this way.

Finally, after I  saw the sample– which is like a chain, and the timeline I made was formed by the same sentences which sanmin offered. Both of the them can be used in information hunting and listening comprehension. And the teaching activity will be just like what Alice had us do in the class-“How to teaching listening”. 

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.